Matt Rawlins MS, ATC, CSCS


You can read the full NYSATA history here or view the PowerPoint presented at the NYSATA 40th Anniversary/Hall of Fame dedication here.

In 1976, a group of athletic trainers and students met with John Sciera who was an athletic trainer at the State University of New York at Cortland.  They initiated the idea of having a state organization (even meeting in John’s living room).  The New York State Athletic Trainers’ Association (NYSATA) was founded in 1976 and Incorporated in 1989.  John Sciera was the first President of the NYSATA.

The state organization had a focus to get licensure right away, but with a bank account of only $273 and debt of over $900, it was going to be a long road!

Education Law Article 162 was passed in 1994 after hard work from many individuals, particularly past presidents Steve Norman, Jenny Monaco, Mike Matheny, and Tim Kelly, and including others like Lou Rende and Lou DeNitto.  Athletic Trainers were required to be certified through NYS Education Department by 2000.  It became illegal to work and call yourself a certified athletic trainer in NYS unless you became certified through NYSED.

During the Presidential tenure of Todd Hirsch, the NYSED began to interpret “Certification” in NYS as “Licensure,” however it is not in our legal language.  NYSATA will pursue actual licensure beginning in 2012 and change of the practice act to encompass the many changes in the profession of athletic training as it has evolved in the nearly 20 years since passing.  Once NYSATA achieves the passing of a bill through legislation and athletic training becomes a NYSED licensed profession, it will be illegal to practice in NYS as an athletic trainer without a NYS license.

We have attempted to develop a historical perspective but we have some gaps.  Can you help us fill in the gaps?  Please contact Deanna Errico

NYSATA Past Leadership

Past Presidents:

Bob O'Malley
Aimee Brunelle 2014-2016
Deanna Ericco 2012-2014
Chris Hobler 2010-2012
John Cottone 2008-2010
Todd Hirsch 2006-2008
Andy Duncan 2004-2006
Andy Smith 2002-2004
Kathy Koshansky 2000-2002
Marty Erb 1998-2000
Tim Kelly 1996-1998
Mike Matheny 1994-1996
Jenny Hathaway Monaco 1992-1994
Steve Norman 1990-1992
Rick Zappala 1988-1990
Tom Fashouer 1986-1988
Don Lowe 1984-1986
John Sciera
John Bernfield 1982-1984
Mike Cappeto 1980-1982
Hollis Powers 1978-1980*
Gene Castrovillo 1977-1978
John Sciera 1976-1977

*start of two year terms
** unable to serve term

NYSATA Secretary:

Carrie Burke 2017 -
Jarett Rhoads 2008 – 2017
Chris Hummel 2005-2008
Jackie Upton 2004-2005
Chris Enk 1999-2004
Mark Casterline 1998-1999
Deanna Errico 1994-1998
Jill Dale 1990-1994

YSATA Treasurer:

David Byrnes 2011 –
Chris Jones 2006-2011
Mark Alderman 2005-2006
Laurie Bitting 2000-2005
Andy Smith 1998-2000
Kathryn Koshansky 1990-1998

 Note: Secretary/Treasurer became separate positions in 1990.

NYSATA Secretary/Treasurer:

Jenny Hathaway
Diane Pavlik
Abbe Herzog 1982-1984
Kim Miller 1980-1982
Kent Scriber 1978-1979
Mike Cappeto 1976-1977

NYSATA Mission

The mission of the New York State Athletic Trainers’ Association shall be to advance, encourage, and improve the profession of athletic training by developing the common interests of its membership for the purpose of enhancing the quality of health care for the physically active in New York State.

All Rights Reserved

Site by SJ Creative

Log in
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software